Parsnip biscuits

Olivia Schneider

blog parsnip biscuits finished product

When I packed up my old apartment, I got rid of some cookbooks I felt I’d outgrown. They were the type of cookbooks that explain in great detail how to cook pasta noodles. As I went through all my cookbooks, I realized that a lot of my vegetarian cookbooks are very simple and borderline boring. I’m all for letting the natural flavours of food be the focus, but I also think that too often eating vegetarian is limited to eating dishes that are a little lacklustre.blog parsnip biscuits cookbook

Recently, I bought a new cookbook called Vegetarian by Alice Hart. I was flipping through it in Chapters when I saw this biscuit recipe. I took a picture of the recipe on my phone (I know…bad girl!) with no intention of buying the book. As I continued to flip, I kept seeing recipes that looked delicious. Taking one picture was bad, but I felt that taking twelve was really inappropriate. So I bought the book, and I absolutely love it. The book itself is beautiful, and the recipes are great. They’re not hard to make, but they’re a little more complex in flavour than those in some other vegetarian cookbooks I own.

blog parsnip biscuits ingredients

Ingredients

1 ¾ cup white flour

1 ½ cups grated parsnip (I used one large parsnip)

2 1/3 teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon chopped rosemary

Salt (to taste)

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milkblog parsnip biscuits dough

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Mix the flour, baking powder, rosemary, salt and parsnip together. Beat the eggs and milk together. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and use a pastry cutter to mix everything together. Don’t over mix it! Then shape the dough into a rectangle and use a sharp knife to cut the large rectangle into smaller biscuits. Place a rosemary sprig into the centre of each biscuit. Cook for about 20 minutes.

blog parsnip biscuits ready for oven

Olivia lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where she enjoys making fast-but-good meals on a budget, and exploring new restaurants and recipes.
Welcome to our family’s discussion forum on food. If you’d like to submit a post, please consider yourself family, and email us at familyfoodforum@gmail.com.

    After a good dinner, one can forgive anybody, even one’s own relations.”

– Oscar Wilde, A Woman of No Importance

4 thoughts on “Parsnip biscuits

  1. LOVE IT! Parsnips and rosemary are two of my favourite ingredients…and then you put them in biscuits. Looking forward to having you make these for me. (Only fat is in the eggs – interesting.)

  2. Liv, I’m nervous about making these because I don’t have the baking touch like you do! I’ve tried sweet potato biscuits but I love love love the idea of parsnip and rosemary.

    I can totally see you looking guilty in Chapters, secretly snapping pictures!

    • I actually don’t have the baking touch! These were really simple though. I wasn’t even that exact with the measurements. As long as you don’t over mix them you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

