Pumpkin pancakes

Olivia Schneider

blog pumpkin pancake

Early in September it felt like the seasons changed in Halifax overnight. For many people this is sad, but I love fall and everything that goes with it—apple picking, the fashions (hello boots and jackets!), cool evenings, colourful leaves, turkey dinners and, of course, pumpkins. It’s obvious that Starbucks controls me too much, but when I see blog pumpkin teatheir Pumpkin Spice Latte on the menu, I know fall has arrived. I told Mom last week that our blog would be nothing without a pumpkin food post. She argued that tomatoes were still in season, and it was too early for fall favourites, but if Starbucks and David’s Tea think it’s time for pumpkin, then I do too!

Recently I’ve been playing around with different pancake recipes. My favourite recipe so far has been a vegan and gluten-free banana pancake recipe. I decided pumpkin pancakes would be a simple first pumpkin meal of the season. I used a Martha Stewart recipe and made very few changes. Essentially, all I did was add extra pumpkin and change up the spices a bit. I also used King Arthur Flour’s Ancient Grains flour blend so I could convince myself the pancakes were healthy. The earthy taste actually ended up complementing the spices really well. I had mine with Dablog pumpkin flourvid’s Tea Pumpkin Chai, which is a fantastic black tea they only release in the fall. These were seriously delicious. I could barely resist eating them all while I took pictures. I froze the leftovers for quick toaster snacks. I also froze the rest of the pureed pumpkin in half-cup portions so I have many more pumpkin recipes to look forward to.

Ingredients

1 cup flour

1/4 cup ancient grains flour

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I added a little more)

1/4 teaspoon ground gingerblog pumpkin spices

1/8  teaspoon nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon allspice

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons melted butter

1 egg

6-8 tablespoons pumpkin puree

blog pumpkin wet and dry ingredientsDirections

Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Fold dry ingredients into wet. Heat a non-stick skillet to medium-low. Add ¼ cup of the pancake mix to the pan. Let each side cook for about 3 minutes.

Olivia lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where she enjoys making fast-but-good meals on a budget, and exploring new restaurants and recipes.
Welcome to our family’s discussion forum on food. If you’d like to submit a post, please consider yourself family, and email us at familyfoodforum@gmail.com.

    After a good dinner, one can forgive anybody, even one’s own relations.”

– Oscar Wilde, A Woman of No Importance

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin pancakes

  1. These look delicious! I’m looking forward to my first pumpkin scone from Starbucks! These pancakes may just tide me over until I get there! 🙂 Loving the blog and stories and food!

  2. The recipe does look delicious (like Summer, I’m a pancake fan), and I also love your photos! Is it a coincidence or your talent that has fall colours in every shot? Very nice, in any case. (However, I can’t help noticing that the finished pancake pic shows the plate resting on a nice French market napkin that looks awfully familiar. Hmmm.)

    And I still think it’s too early for pumpkin recipes. I’m posting my corn fritters with tomato relish later this week. Yes, I am clinging to the last vestiges of summer. I adore fall, but not until it’s actually fall.

  3. Pumpkins, tomatoes, corn, beans, roots and still cucs, late strawberries and apples too. What is this season? It’s the season to satisfy almost any craving and the season to get busy preserving the bounty. Those bright rich colours and flavours will warm our hearts and bellies during the long winter.

  4. I find a lot of commercial pancakes to be a bit bland, so I’m completely on board with this! Olivia, you and I share a love of Pumpkin Chai. On Saturday it was a bit hot, so I went to David’s Tea and had an iced Pumpkin Chai. It was aahhhmmmaazinng!

Leave a Reply

