Edamame dumplings with steamed kale

Olivia Schneider

I’m slightly addicted to sushi. When I moved to Halifax 4 years ago I didn’t even eat fish, let alone raw fish, but I guess living in the Maritimes helped me come around. One of my favourite sushi house dishes is salted edamame. I had never really cooked edamame at home; in fact I rarely cook with Asian-inspired flavours, but when Ben decided to give a vegan diet a try, I figured edamame was a good protein-rich food to keep around the kitchen. I stumbled on this edamame dumpling recipe on the blog Love and Lemons (which is an amazing blog, and I definitely recommend it). http://www.loveandlemons.com/

Unlike the version on Love and Lemons, my dumplings weren’t vegan, but they was ridiculously good and surprisingly easy.

edamame dumplings 1

Ingredients (makes 10 dumplings)

Wonton wrappers

Chicken stock

Chopped peanuts

Cilantro

Filling ingredients

1/3 cup edamame (I buy it frozen)

1 green scallion

1 small clove of garlic

½ teaspoon Sriracha sauce (this amount makes them pretty spicy)

Small handful spinach

½ teaspoon Greek yogurt

Drop of soy sauce

edamame dumplings 02

Directions

Mix all the filling ingredients in a food processor. You want the texture to be slightly crumbly, so I usually just pulse everything a couple of times.

Lay out the wonton wrappers on a flat, dry surface. Put a dollop (about ½ a teaspoon) of the mixture into the centre of each wrapper. Then, using your finger, wet the four sides of the wrapper. Fold the wrapper horizontally and press the sides closed. Then fold the corners for a second time. It’s really not important how you seal your dumplings, so do whatever you think is easiest and prettiest!

Bring a shallow pan of water to a boil. Add the chicken stock and reduce to a simmer. Slide the dumplings into the water and let them cook for 5-8 minutes. Then, using a slotted spoon, remove the dumplings from the water.

Top the dumplings with some cilantro and chopped peanuts (sorry, Adrian, feel free to omit!). I served my dumplings with blanched kale with lemon and sesame seeds.

edamame dumplings 03

Olivia lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where she enjoys making fast-but-good meals on a budget, and exploring new restaurants and recipes.
Welcome to our family’s discussion forum on food. If you’d like to submit a post, please consider yourself family, and email us at familyfoodforum@gmail.com.

    After a good dinner, one can forgive anybody, even one’s own relations.”

– Oscar Wilde, A Woman of No Importance

 

6 thoughts on “Edamame dumplings with steamed kale

      • James’ favorite condiment/ingredient/topping for everything! … Seriously, we put Sriracha on everything.

        Liv, these look fab.Totally up our alley. I don’t have a food processor but I think hand chopping should work, yeah?

  1. Pingback: Dumplings! | Daily Gluttony

Leave a Reply

